Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting 28th National Congress of Parasitology

The Executive Committee Meeting of The Indian Society for Parasitology was held on 22.2.2018 at ICMR-National Institute of Traditional Medicine, Belagavi. The following members were present:

- 1. Dr. S.L. Hoti,
- 2. Dr. Veena Tandon
- 3. Dr. Sandeep Malhotra
- 4. Dr. D.V. Desai
- 5. Dr. Sukhbir Kaur
- 6. Dr. J.K. Saxena (Secretary)
- 7. Dr A.K. Dwivedi
- 1. The minutes of the last General Body Meeting of 27th National Congress of Parasitology, 2017 were approved.
- 2. Dr Bhavik, Springer Nature presented the progress of the JOPD publication and renewal of the publication contract between ISP and Springer. He informed that JOPD has progressed satisfactorily. The acceptance rate of manuscript in JOPD is at present 21% which is good for the Journal and it will be helpful for filing the application for obtaining the Impact Factor.
- 3. Renewal of contract for publication of JOPD with publisher has to be approved after receipt of Draft from Dr Bhavik. The draft will be signed by Editor-in-Chief, JOPD Prof. Veena Tandon, and Secretary, J.K. Saxena and sent to publisher.
- 4. It was also suggested that the young scientists who have published paper of good quality in JOPD will be provided Rs.1000/- as travel grant to attend the Congress. It was also proposed that few travel grants will be provided to research workers who are not receiving funds from any source to attend the Congress.
- 5. President informed that new website of ISP is functional and now membership payment will be done through online payment mode.
- 6. Dr. Ashwani Kumar, RMRC, GOA, was appointed as Joint Secretary of the Society. Dr. Pramod Kumar, DST-SERB, New Delhi was approved as member of the ISP Executive Committee.

- 7. The Executive Committee also approved the award of ISP Fellowships to following members for their significant contributions in field of Parasitology and Service to Society:
 - i. Prof. M.Z. Chisti, University of Kashmir, Srinagar, for 2016
 - ii. Prof. Sukhbir Kaur, Panjab University, Chandigarh, for 2017
- 8. Prof. Veena Tandon informed the progress of the manuscript publication. It was suggested that Executive Committee members should be encouraged to attend the ISP meetings. The new executive committee members will be appointed during the 29th National Congress of Parasitology.
- 9. It was resolved that all ISP members should send their correct mailing address to Secretary, ISP so that all the information regarding activities of the ISP is received by them. They were all informed to provide their e-mail addresses for quick dissemination of information.
- 10. It was also suggested that the highlights of the ISP meetings should be published in next issue of JOPD.
- 11. The following members were approved for the ISP awards 2017 as per the recommendation of the Expert Committee:
 - i. Dr. B.N. Singh Memorial Oration Award:

Dr. Anuradha Dube, CDRI, Lucknow

- ii. Dr. B.P. Pandey Memorial Oration Award:
 Prof. Placid D'souza, Veterinary University, Bengaluru.
- iii. Prof. M.B. Mirza Award for the Best Published Work carried out in India: Dr. Vikas Kushwaha, Panjab University, Chandigarh.
- 12. The proposals for the 29th National Congress of Parasitology were considered and the Venue and dates will be announced on the ISP website.
- 13. The proposal to provide Travel grant to the President and Ex-Presidents, Secretary and treasurer for attending the meetings was approved with a rider that they will book the tickets in advance to reduce the cost. Local hospitality will be provided free of cost to all the executive committee members and the registration will also be waived off by the organizers.
- 14. The Executive committee also approved that token amount of Award money will be given to winners of various ISP Awards, which is as follows:
 - i. Dr. B. N. Singh Memorial Oration Award, and Dr B. P. Pandey Memorial Oration Award, Rs. 8000 each.
 - ii. Prof. M. B. Mirza Award and Young Scientist Awards, Rs 4000 each.

- iii. Best Poster Awards in different categories of the Parasitology will be Rs 2000 each. The maximum number of awards will be five in each conference.
- 15. The Committee also approved the award of Six travel grants to fellows who are not receiving any financial assistance for attending the conference. The candidate will be paid 3AC Fare from the Institute to Conference Venue. The details will be displayed on the ISP website.
- 16. The members thanked Dr. S. L. Hoti for his excellent service to Society and also for organizing the Congress at ICMR- National Institute of Traditional Medicine, Belagavi.
- 17. The meeting ended with a note of thanks to the chair.